Twenty years !

On Monday son no2 is twenty ! This makes me feel a. old and b. reflective.

So I thought this week’s blog would be about some of the amazing books I have read over those twenty years.

The first that stands out in my mind is

Owl Babies by Martin Waddell

Son 2 hated being left at pre-school and I turned to books (a sure bet) to help him. Owl Babies for those who are not familar is the story of three little owls and how they learn that even when their mum flies away every night to get food for them all she will always return.

This then made me think about what other books in the last 20 years have really stuck with me.

Fingersmith by Sarah Waters

Excellent! with an absolutely stunning twist that still makes me think wow about 10 years after reading it.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the

Night Time by Mark Haddon.

I was working in a school and doing an OU course in Early Years Education when I came across this and it was the first time I had really read any fiction that dealt with Autism. Again a really amazing book.

Finally The Novel Cure by Ella Bertroud and Susan Elderkin. This was given to me by my now hubby as a Christmas present at our first Christmas together and is my go to book bible in times of crisis and turbulence.

An A -Z book prescription to most ailments and events such as serious ailments such as depression, loss but also it’s funny and lighthearted.

These are just a snap shot of the books I have read in the past 20 years but I am looking forward to the next 20 !

Happy weekend

Karen xxxx



January, although the month of my birthday and one of my sons. It is always a struggle. Generally dark, dismal and I have no money, I struggle with fatigue and lack of motivation.

This year is my year of self-kindness so I thought what can I do to be kind and make January go faster.

So last week I decided to put a reminder for 8pm every night to read,this is like an appointment with myself and my book and so far it has worked. I have finished two books this week.

The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley—Lucy-Foley
This is out on 24th January

Also Sleep by C.L Taylor I read this via #Netgalley is due out in April and I will review later

Both were new authors to me both recommended by other bloggers and both brilliant.

They are both quite creepy and I could not put them done so this has been a wonderful distraction from gloomy January.
So I will be continuing this and maybe tomorrow I may even go for a slow jog too !

Back to work !

After being on holiday for 11 days going back to work has been difficult this week.

I am sure I am not the only one that has felt this but today has been hard. I am trying really hard with the self care and not being hard on myself and I have made a point of reading at least twice a day and it really helps.

Anxiety can be a huge block for my reading but I have tried to make sure I pick books that engross me. Weirdly I find creepy books the best medicine for this.

Although nothing surprises me

anymore when dealing with my condition.

Keep reading people it really does help. X

Happy New Year

In 2018 I got married and I started blogging with Lucy and Nick on which I love and this has introduced me to

lots of new authors and also Net Galley.

In 2019 I need to reduce my tbr pile it is obscene at the moment.

I wasn’t well at the last part of 2018 but blogging really helped me get well as well as support from my family and lots of self care which I will be continuing in 2019 to keep well.

I have upped my reading goal on Good Reads to 50 this year as I was really happy with 37 in 2018.

My favourite genre last year was Crime and Thrillers with The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle being my book of the year.

I am looking forward to reading lots of new authors this year and chatting to other bloggers on social media.

Thank you for being a lovely community and I look forward to meeting more of you virtually in 2019.


Anxiety, books and cats.

I have thought for a long time about writing a blog. As I suffer with anxiety I have told myself many times that people will not be interested in what I have to say, that I am rubbish at writing and many other reasons mostly negative ones. So I thought why not, what do I have to lose and maybe it will be a positive experience.

So here goes ! I will mainly write about books because they are my real love and I often see reviews and disagree with them and so I will be honest in my reviews and hopefully they will be useful to someone. Also I will probably mention my two cats both named after character’s in books. Sookie and Atticus. I am hoping in the autumn that the duo may become a trio as we would love a kitten. So in essence, I am an anxious bookloving crazy cat lady.